Moreover, in the legal market, medical dispensaries, in particular, offer a much wider range of strains bred and groomed to produce specific effects. With the black market, not only are your options minimal, but you can’t even be sure of what you’re getting.
This means that the chances of experiencing the classic side effects of THC like paranoia and anxiety are much slimmer.
3. The Black Market vs. Dispensaries
This post will bring you some clarity on the best ways to purchase legal weed online, why you should never choose the black market, and introduce you to a viable (and still legitimate) alternative for those who don’t have the legal marijuana option.
If you live in a state where recreational use is legal, you can buy weed online — but under one condition. Online purchases still need to be made from a business based in your state since transporting weed across state borders is illegal, even if it’s between two “legal” states.
On top of that, with the cannabis industry being so infantile, regulations have been notoriously confusing, subject to constant change, and overwhelming to the regular consumer.
Footnote 2 New Jersey AB 21 does not specify a date by which retail sales must begin but requires the Cannabis Regulatory Commission to adopt regulations governing sales within 180 days after the effective date (February 22, 2021) or within 45 days after all five commission members have been appointed, whichever is later. ↩
Footnote 5 The South Dakota Department of Revenue is required to issue regulations, including regulations on licensing and sales, no later than April 1, 2022. ↩
Footnote 1 Although Colorado’s Constitution authorizes possession of 1 ounce or less, Colorado HB 1090, enacted in 2021, eliminated the “drug petty offense” for possession of not more than 2 ounces. ↩
Footnote 4 Although Amendment A states that possession is legal effective July 1, 2021, South Dakota’s Sixth Judicial Circuit has declared Amendment A unconstitutional. This ruling stays implementation of the recreational law pending a decision by South Dakota’s Supreme Court. ↩
Footnote 3 New York SB 854 does not specify a date by which retail sales must begin, but regulations authorizing home cultivation for recreational use are not due until 18 months after the first authorized retail sale of adult-use cannabis products to a consumer. ↩